FASoS News

FASoS welcomes Prof. Mathieu Segers

Following the end of his mandate as dean of University College Maastricht, Prof. Mathieu Segers, chair in contemporary European history and European integration, will be joining the History Department of FASoS as from 1 October 2019. As a well-known scholar on the history and pre-history of European integration, his research perfectly fits into the work of the faculty’s research programme ‘Politics and Culture in Europe’.

Read more…

FASoS alumna Hanna Novosad appointed minister in Ukraine

Master European Studies alumna Hanna Novosad has been appointed as Education Minister in the Ukraine. Hanna Novosad graduated from the master’s programme in 2013. She worked at the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine, where she has been leading the Directorate for Strategic Planning and European Integration since 2017.

Read more…

Special chair ‘Limburg and Europe’ for Prof. Joep Leerssen

On 1 September, Prof. Joep Leerssen has been apppointed as special chair ‘Limburg and Europe (0,2 fte) at FASoS. The chair has been established by the Sociaal Historisch Centrum Limburg (SHCL) with the support of the Maastricht Working on Europe group. Professor Leerssen has a chair in Modern European Literature in the Department of European Studies (since 1991) at the University of Amsterdam and is recipient of the prestigious Spinoza Prize (2008).

Read more…

MA ES alum Virginijus Sinkevičius nominated as European Commissioner

Virginijus Sinkevičius has been nominated as European Commissioner for Lithuania. Sinkevičius graduated from the master’s programme European Studies in Maastricht in 2013. The European Parliament still needs to approve his nomination.

Read more…

The winner of the Tiny Innovation Award 2019 is…

With two ideas ending in a shared first place, the award committee is happy to announce the Tiny Innovation Award 2019 winners:

Joeri Bruyninckx and Bernike Pasveer, assistant professors at the Department of Social Sciences, with their idea “Books of fiction: a common library of works of literary fiction in a common room” and Simone Gavazzi, Bachelor Arts and Culture student, with his idea “Chess Table”.

Read more…

Winners of the FASoS Education Award 2019

During the Education Day 2019, which took place on 25 June, two tutors received the FASoS Education Prize 2019. Maud Oostindie won the prize for the bachelor’s programme Arts and Culture and Robin Schormans for the bachelor’s programme European Studies.

Congratulations Maud and Robin!

Summer opening times Education Office FASoS

During summer (July and August) the FASoS education Office, including the Front Office, will have no opening hours. You can reach the Front Office via study-fasos@maastrichtuniversity.nl.

In the Introduction week (26 August-30 August 2019) the Front Office will only be open from 13.30-16.00

Read more…

Research Master ES alumna Lea Smidt wins thesis award

Lea Smidt, alumna of the MSc European Studies (Research), has been awarded the Daniel Heinsius Prize for the best MA thesis in political science (by the Dutch and Belgian Political Science Associations).

Lea received the prestigious award for his thesis on: ‘Can Civil Society be Socially Engineered? The Influence of EU Democracy Aid on Civic Participation in Africa’. The prize was awarded at the Politicologenetmaal at Antwerp University on 13 June.

Achievements of the FASoS Green Impact team 2018/19

Green Impact 2018/19 is coming to an end and it is the occasion to look back to the actions and initiatives implemented by the FASoS Green Impact team led by Sjoerd, Silvija, Eliza, John, Zahar, Vincent, Manon, Jana, Timothé and Charlotte.

The first and more impactful action is without a doubt the setting up of the Kerosene Tax and the ECI project in order to impose a regular tax on intra European flights.

Read more…

Lea Beiermann shortlisted for Thesis Award

Lea Beiermann is one of the three remaining candidates for the 2019 Gewina-Descartes-Huygens Thesis Award.

This prize is given triannually to the best MA thesis in the History of Science and Universities written in the Netherlands and Belgium. A four-member jury made the selection out of 18 submissions. The award will be handed to the winner on 21 June at the Gewina Woudschoten Conference.

Read more…

FASoS Weekly © 2019 All Rights Reserved

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress